Don't Throw Away Those Crusts!

heartheartheartheart

My kidlets are not very fond of the crust on bread and it is a battle I refuse to have. I know they will eventually eat them. Gabbylocks is already eating some crusts that I leave on. Whenever I cut the crust off though, I get a shiver looking at what is being wasted. I read this cute little dea somewhere and it has been the best food saver idea I have read in a long time. I just cannot remember where I read it. This is also an easy cooking activity to do with your kidlets.

 

WHAT TO DO

Cut the crusts off the bread before making the sandwich.                                          

                                            

Place them in a zip lock bag and put this in the freezer.                                          

 

NOW THE FUN PART

Use these frozen crusts to make eggy fingers

Eggy fingers are a smaller, simpler form of french toast. A yummy breakfast alternative on Sunday mornings.

In a round bowl, place 2 eggs and a little milk and whisk.

 

 

                       

 

 

Place slightly defrosted crusts into the egg mixture and soak for a minute.

Heat up a frying pan and melt a little butter.

Place the egg soaked crusts into the frying pan and lightly fry, turned a couple of times so all sides are browned.

Serve Eggy Fingers with cinnamon sugar or golden syrup and fresh fruit. 

YUM YUM

 

                                               

My kids love it.

 

Happy Cooking

 

Paula   heart

 

Leave a Reply

