Kids And Technology

free digital scrapbook paper - yellow with white polka dots[1]Tech banner

My children are growing up as a generation of ‘digital tech-heads’. This is my description, not a professional one. As a parent and educator, I see the need for kids to be aware of and use technology and I see the negativity it can cause. Do the positives out way the negatives, or vice versa. It is such an individual choice on where you sit on this continuum.

My husband is a franchisee of a very popular and well-known computer store and we have every bit of technology at home, as you can image. And yes, our kidlets are pretty aware of computers and how they work. Our 6-year-old can get onto Word, insert pictures and do so many things that I am amazed. Yet with all of this, we have strict rules about computer use at home.

We have a 6 (almost 7) year old and a 4-year-old. Most other kids their age, that we know, have a DS and even an iPad. We could probably go down that road but I cannot bring myself to spend that kind of money on them at their age. They are quite happy on the home PC and we give them the hand me downs.

When my husband changed phones, we gave our son his old iPhone and put games on that. I gave our daughter my iPod as I got a new phone and didn’t use it anymore for music. She got games on that. They were so easy and portable. That lasted almost a year. We then passed on our HP tablets which are perfect for games (education and normal). We received a Telstra T Hub with our new phone set up at home and don’t use it so our son uses this for his games. This then begs the question : Android vs Apple. A matter of choice. I use an iPad with my disability students at school because they have a lot of good apps. However, when I find one I check the android selection and often find the same one. We do not have an iPad at home.

This post is not about the 2 varieties. It is about how we need to come to the realisation that, like it or not, we are surrounded by Technology and it is going to get bigger.

Doesn’t the saying go: If You Can’t Beat Them, Join Them.

This is the first in a series of posts about Kids and Technology. I am hoping to post once a week but I am a Mum on the Run so it might be fortnightly.  Please stay with us and join in this conversation.

Let’s begin this conversation by completing the Poll below and adding any comments you like, in the comment boxes.

Leave a Reply

