Children’s Chore Charts

I believe that all members of a family need to be responsible for jobs that help the family work together. A friend of mine told me her analogy she tells her kids so they understand why they have to do jobs around the house. This works well as there are 4 of them. She told them that their family was like a lawnmower that had 4 wheels. If one of the wheels were broken or not working well, then the lawnmower would not get the job done. Each member of their family was like a wheel on the lawnmower. They had to all work together so everything would get done. I loved it so I shared it with my 2. Thanks Jody.

As the kidlets get older and are capable of more I revamp their job charts. I have just done this and thought I would share them with you. Our son is 4 and our daughter will soon turn 7. There are jobs that they each have to do every day: Make their bed, take their lunchbox and dishes to the kitchen, hang their towels up and make sure their washing is in the laundry basket.

Then we have jobs that are completed only on some days and jobs they share. They were only feeding the cats, in the morning, twice a week and my husband I were having turns as well. Then they started fighting over who would let them in and out. So now they take turns to feed them and we don’t do it at all. That worked out well. Their daily jobs are common nature for them now. I check the charts every morning to make sure the right kidlet does the right job. As they get older, their tasks will be increased slightly. Gabby has started feeding the cats at night, once a week, with their wet food. Once she has got this under control I will increase it to twice a week. They each have turns emptying the dishwasher but are at different levels. I usually empty it all except for the plastic dishes they use and the knives and fork basket. Rogey Bear just packs the plastic dishes away and Gabbylocks puts them and the cutlery away. This will again be increased with confidence and control over certain items.

Click on the link below to see how I do their charts. It is so simple to do. I just use Microsoft Word to design it and then save it as a PDF.

Gabby's job chart

Rogan's job chart

Leave a Reply

